© 2019  MASTERGATEPLUS INC.

HOW TO CHOOSE YOUR AUTOMATED DRIVEWAY GATE?

FROM GATE AUTOMATION TO GATE DESIGN, HOW TO CHOOSE YOUR GATE IN 2019

The first thing your visitor will see when they come to your property is your gate. Adding prestige and an important security feature to your property while protecting your family from intruders is what you get when you add a driveway gate to your entrance. With the automated option, you get to stay in your car during the winter time with the wireless controls to open your gate remotely.

 

Besides the gate automation, you will also have to think about what type of gate automation you are looking for (sliding gate, swinging gate, barrier arm gate), what type of materials you want the gates to be made of (aluminum, wood, steel) and what building material you want for your gate posts (cement, aluminum, natural stone, decorative stone). The last thing to figure out is if your municipality has any regulations for your entrance gate.

When choosing your gate automation products, it is important to ask the right questions such as where the product was made and for what types of weather, what is the durability and the warranties offered by the manufacturer. With tough winters and cold weathers, you need a product that will work. Before buying gate operators at a low cost, think about it twice because over the long term, you might need to replace parts, a regular maintenance and eventually replace the operators because they were not suitable for your climate. For example, gate operators that work in Florida might not be suitable for Quebec and Ontario weathers.

 

Speaking of climate, you have probably seen uneven gates in the past, when you look at them they are not straight. The main reason is because the gates and pillars move over time with frost. Having a good foundation from the start is key. MasterGatePlus has developped a patented prefabricated gate concept to fix this issue.

Various options are offered to you to control your gate remotely, such has wireless remotes for example.

The advantages of an automated gate 

 

More an more people are buying gates to secure their property due to their ease of use with wireless remotes, keypad and code entry systems and wireless phone controls (mobile app) etc.

When you are buying a gate, you are also buying a piece of mind when kids are playing near the road, when you leave the house you know your entrance is protected against thieves. Add cameras to your driveway gate and know exactly who is there and when.

 

The aesthetic part of having a gate is also interesting. When you sell your house, people will love that aspect. Buying a gate is a good investment.

How about the disadvantages?

 

Some people will say that gates can be costly, but with a lasting solution like the one MasterGatePlus is offering, the little maintenance costs will save you over time. Choosing the right materials, a good foundation and the best gate automation for the Quebec and Ontario climate is key.

 

The question of snow accumulation is often asked by people, the answer is that your gate will not replace your snowplow truck. During snowstorms, it is important to clean your driveway properly for a smooth functionning of your gate operators. The safety sensors in the gate operators allows the gate to stop before getting damaged when it senses an obstacle, like snow for example.

 

What if you run of of power? Make sure you get the battery backup system when buying your gate operators.

What is the best type of gate automation for my gates?

 

Gate automation for swing gates

 

The most popular choice for residential gates is the swing gate operators, working with endless screws. It's a logical choice for aluminum swing gates as well as wood and steel gates. It can also serve light commercial purposes such as a 400 cycles per day for example.

 

Advantages :

 

  • Subtle and aesthetic look (behing the gates)

  • Solid and reliable

  • Gates up to 850lbs.

 

There is also the choice for swing gates operators working with arms, which are a lot bigger and less aethetics but can be good for long and big heavy gates.

Gate automation for sliding gates

 

The most popular option for commercial properties, the sliding gate automation offers solidity. The chain system is often used for sliding gates, but ice and snow forming around the chain could break it and requires more maintenance. We suggest using a rack and pinion gate automation for your sliding gate which are more durable and reliable. In order to use this system, you need a stable gate that will not move over time, such as the prefabricated gates offered by MasterGatePlus.

 

Advantages :

  • Increased stability

  • Large operating cycles

  • Price (usually less expansive than swing gate operators)

  • Operating weight uo to 650lbs and more

 

There is also the choice of barrier arm gates, which are oftentimes seen at hospital entrances for example. This type of barrier offers a lower degree of security but is made for an intense use.

 

You will now be better buyers when making asking questions about which type of gate operators is best for your needs. You have more questions and would like to get answers for your gate project? Contact us now, we can help you!

© 2019  MASTERGATEPLUS INC.

Comment bien choisir son portail motorisé?

De la motorisation de votre portail jusqu’au design. Suivez ces conseils pratiques lors de votre prochain achat de barrière motorisée en 2019.

En plus d’être la première image que vous invités auront lors de leur arrivée à votre propriété, votre portail d’entrée ajoutera une touche prestige et un aspect important de sécurité en protégeant votre famille contre les possibles intrusions. Avec l’option d’un portail motorisé, vous pourrez rester au chaud dans votre voiture lors de ces journées froides d’hiver avec l’ouverture automatique à l’aide de contrôles à distance.

 

Mise appart la motorisation de votre portail, vous devrez penser au type d’ouverture (coulissant, battant ou levant), aux matériaux des portes (aluminium, bois, acier) et des colonnes (béton, aluminium, pierre naturelle, pierre décorative) ainsi qu’à la règlementation de votre municipalité pour ce type d’installation.

 

Lorsque vient le temps de choisir quels produits utilisés pour la motorisation, il est important de poser les bonnes questions sur la provenance des produits, la durabilité du produit et des garanties offertes par le fabricant. Avec ces hivers rigoureux et froids, le bon choix de motorisation est de mise. Pensez-y bien avant d’acheter des moteurs de barrières ‘’bon marché’’ versus ce qu’il vous faut vraiment pour une durabilité accrue, cela pourrait vous faire sauver à long terme, notamment sur l’entretien et le remplacement des pièces. La motorisation de portails pour la Floride n’est pas la même que pour des portails conçus au Québec et en Ontario par exemple.

 

Parlant de climat, vous devrez aussi prévoir le gel et le dégel qui forcent souvent le portail et les colonnes à bouger avec le temps. Lorsque vous investissez de l’argent sur l’achat d’un portail d’entrée, vous devriez penser à la conception de celui-ci pour affronter nos hivers. Voici d’ailleurs une solution brevetée et 100% québécoise ici à ce problème du mouvement des sols.

 

Différentes options vous sont offertes pour le type d’ouverture avec télécommande à distance pour votre portail.

Les avantages d’une barrière motorisée (portail motorisé)

 

De plus en plus de gens sont attirés vers l’achat d’un portail motorisé pour leur aspect sécuritaire, facilité d’utilisation avec les contrôles à distances tel que télécommandes, claviers numériques avec codes d’accès, ouverture par téléphone (application mobile) etc.

 

Ayez la conscience tranquille avec les enfants qui jouent près de la rue passante avec un portail. En plus de sécuriser l’entrée, vous pourrez vous protéger contre les cambrioleurs qui souhaites avoir accès à votre propriété. Plusieurs personnes ajoutent aussi des caméras sur les colonnes de leur portail afin d’optimiser leur sécurité et de voir qui arrive sur leur propriété.

 

L’esthétique est aussi un point très important, surtout lorsque vous viendrez pour vendre votre propriété. Un portail motorisé est un investissement gagnant.

 

Comment prévenir les inconvénients?

 

Certains diront que le coût d’achat initial peut s’avérer couteux, par contre avec une solution durable, comme celle proposée par MasterGatePlus, le peu d’entretient vous fera économiser avec le temps. De là l’importance de choisir les bons matériaux, une bonne fondation à la base et une motorisation pour notre climat du Québec.

 

La question de l’accumulation de neige est aussi une question commune. Il est certain que les moteurs de barrières ne sont pas conçus pour remplacer votre déneigeur. Il est primordial de bien entretenir votre cours lors de tempête de neige. Les moteurs de barrières ont un système de sécurité pour empêcher les bris lorsqu’ils forcent plus qu’à l’habitude. Que vous choisissez un portail battant ou un portail coulissant, vous devrez déneiger votre entrée.

 

Vous manquez de courant? Assurez-vous d’obtenir le système de batteries de secours pour votre portail, bien important pour les pannes de courant.

Quel type de motorisation choisir pour son portail?

 

Motorisation pour portails battants

 

L’option la plus populaire pour les portails résidentiels, la motorisation pour barrières battantes à vérin (vis sans fin) s’avère un choix logique pour des portes en aluminium, en bois ou en acier. La motorisation peut servir principalement pour une utilisation résidentielle mais aussi commercial, pour un cycle d’ouverture allant jusqu’à 400 fois par jours, grâce à son système de vérin.

 

Avantages :

 

  • Discret et esthétique (caché derrière la porte)

  • Solide et fiable

  • Poids des portes jusqu’à 850lbs

 

Il y a aussi la motorisation pour portail battant à bras articulée qui est moins esthétique dû à leur grosseur, mais qui peut s’avérer un choix intéressant pour les grandes portes très lourdes et une utilisation intense.

Motorisation pour portails coulissants 

 

L’option la plus populaire pour les propriétés commerciales, la motorisation pour barrière coulissante offre une solidité accrue. L’option d’un moteur avec entrainement à chaine est souvent utilisée, par contre la contrainte de la glace et la neige l’hiver nous force vers un moteur avec entrainement à crémaillère, une option beaucoup plus fiable et durable pour notre climat. Afin d’utiliser ce système, il faut avoir une installation de barrière stable et s’assurer que les poteaux de supports ne bougent pas, comme avec le système en U de MasterGatePlus.

 

Avantages :

  • Stabilité accrue

  • Cycles d’ouverture répété

  • Prix (un moteur au lieu de 2 pour les portails battants)

  • Poids des portes jusqu’à 650lbs et plus

 

En terminant, il y a aussi les bras levants que l’on voit souvent dans les stationnements des hôpitaux par exemple. Ce type de barrière offre une faible sécurité, mais leur utilisation intense et répétitive est parfaite pour ces besoins.

 

Vous serez maintenant de meilleurs acheteurs en suivant ces conseils lors de l’achat de votre portail motorisé. Vous voulez de l’aide pour choisir ou vous avez des questions? Contactez-nous dès maintenant, nous avons les réponses à vos questions!